Committee for Safety of Foreign Exchange Students



August 9, 2014            


U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue
Washington, DC  20530


Dear Honorable Attorney General,


This is a complaint with request for investigation of the U.S. Department of Justice.


Below please find complaint sent to the U.S. Department of State on August 5, 2014.  Included is an email from a natural mother of Finland describing the alleged treatment of her son while supervised by
Ms. Rose Hawkins, Regional Director of International Student Exchange USA (ISE USA) of Long Prairie, MN.


Please be advised this is not an isolated incident.  


This pattern of abuse harms these children and is ruining the reputation of the United States.


Please contact me as soon as your schedule permits so that we may forward to your attention the previous complaints sent to the State Department's attention about this very person and same student placement agency, Ms. Rose Hawkins, Regional Director of International Student Exchange USA (ISEUSA).
Respectfully,

Danielle Grijalva, Director
Committee for Safety of Foreign Exchange Students
P.O. Box 6496 / Oceanside, CA 92052
www.csfes.org / 760-583-9593

Laws can embody standards; governments can enforce laws--but the final task is not a task for government. It is a task for each and every one of us. Every time we turn our heads the other way when we see the law flouted--when we tolerate what we know to be wrong--when we close our eyes and ears to the corrupt because we are too busy, or too frightened--when we fail to speak up and speak out--we strike a blow against freedom and decency and justice. 
-- Robert Francis Kennedy



-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Minnesota | FINLAND Complaint | Ms. Rose Hawkins of International Student Exchange USA (ISEUSA) [FWD: Case from Long Prairie, Minnesota 2013-14]
From: <dgrijalva@csfes.org>
Date: Tue, August 05, 2014 12:21 am
To: "Alexander T" <AlexanderJT@state.gov>, "Susan Geary" <GearySA@state.gov>, "Elizabeth Dickerson" <DickersonEB@state.gov>, "Stanley Colvin" <Colvinss@state.gov>, "Brandi Duffy"<duffyb@state.gov>, "State High School Exchanges Joele" <highschoolexchanges@state.gov>,

State" ruschTL@state.org>, "State Department J. Theagene" <Theagene@state.gov>, "Nicole Deaner"
<DeanerN@state.gov>, "Handleyka@state.gov" <Handleyka@state.gov>, "Ida Abell" <AbellIE@state.gov>, 
"Hawkins S" <hawkinsks@state.gov>, "Henry Scott" <ScottHC@state.gov> Cc: "Finland Consul Lasse Baldauf"
<lasse.baldauf@finpro.fi>, "Finland Consulate Markkanen"<juha.markkanen@formin.fi>, "Finland Consul Pekka Parnanen" <pekka.parnanen@finpro.fi>, "Finland Consul Jukka Pietikainen" <jukka.pietikainen@formin.fi>, "Finland Consul Sanomat" <sanomat.los@formin.fi>, "Finland Consul Sanomat.was" <sanomat.was@formin.fi>, "Bill Bonomo" <bill@iseusa.org>, "Wayne Brewer" <wayne@iseusa.com>

United States Department of State
Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs
Mr. James Alexander
Ms. Susan Geary
Ms. Robin Lerner
Washington, DC  20522


Dear Mr. Alexander, Ms. Geary and Ms. Lerner,


Please accept another another complaint against International Student Exchange USA (ISEUSA).


Email below from the natural parents of former ISEUSA participant XXXX of Finland placed in Long Prairie, Minnesota, exchange year 2013-2014, is for your review.


Who was the impartial student advocate assigned to former ISEUSA participant XXXXXXXX of Finland?  It is important youth serving organizations do not allow for the same individuals to continue making the 
same mistakes that impact the well-being and safety of teens.  Recall the laws that were established in Minnesota to further protect exchange students and reputation of America:


Minnesota Deputy Secretary of State Interviewed to Discuss Laws Established to Protect 
Children

Laws Enforced to Protect Foreign Exchange Students and Reputation of United States
Minnesota's Deputy Secretary of State


Jim Gelbmann Date of Interview: July 16, 2009


SHELBY: Understood. You're a good man, Jim Gelbmann. Jim Gelbmann 
is Deputy Secretary of State and he has worked tirelessly to try to get the 
state to change its regulations, policies and laws regarding the foreign 
exchange student program in the state of Minnesota. And there has been 
a company CETUSA, C-E-T-U-S-A and you may see that from time to 
time you might even get some queries from the Council for Educational 
Travel USA.  Back in the day when I was in high school, there was nothing 
more fabulous than foreign exchange students coming in an bring their 
knowledge of their own country and telling us about that and then learning 
about America and helping us teach.  And then I've run into some of them 
in later years and they would say it was the greatest experience I've ever
had in my life. 

Here in Minnesota, we are the host to lots of them because we're a very 
open state and we want to be a part of that process but it doesn't always 
turn out well because the companies that are looking for these families 
apparently, apparently, are not doing a very good job of screening them, 
we've got lists, and lists and lists if you've been listening to the program, 
we're talking about sex abuse, we talking pornography, we talking about 
convicts, we're talking about taking of money from these individuals, that 
is not the kind of impression that I as an American want to leave on a 
young person, or any person whatsoever who comes to our country to 
visit and then goes back home and says they never want to go back to 
that place again; they're terrible, terrible people Jim Gelbmann and I agree 
on that sort of soft element of that legislation. The hard element of course
is making sure that these companies don't have a right to operate if they're 
not doing it right in this state of Minnesota. The good news is that Jim has 
told us, it has been signed by the Governor which is now a matter of law in 
the state of Minnesota. As you looked around, you said you began 
investigating one case, but then you soon realized there were a lot more 
cases out there. Can you talk about a few of those?


GELBAMANN: Sure, Don. Probably the most common problem that 
happened with the CETUSA organization in multiple high schools 
throughout the state is that they would bring more students over to 
Minnesota than they had families to place them in. And, again, that is 
against the federal regulations, as well. Federal law requires the 
organization to have us signed contract with a host family one month 
before the student arrives in the States. And what would regularly happen 
is CETUSA would have three or four host families signed up for a 
specific school and five or six students would be bought over, and then 
CETUSA would frantically search for host families for the students. In one 
case that was documented actually

WCCO TV a number of years ago, I think back in 2006 um, one CETUSA 
organization uh, uh, coordinator had six students student living in her 
basement, had six foreign exchange students living in her basement 
because she couldn't find host families for them --


SHELBY: And that is violation of law -


GELBMANN: And that is a violation of law right then and there."
You may read the interview here:  Minnesota Deputy Secretary of State
Interviewed to Discuss Laws Established to Protect Children

1/6/2010

Governor of Minnesota signs bill to further protect foreign exchange 
students within its state.

This repeated pattern of abuse and neglect of foreign exchange students must be thoroughly investigated.  As State continues to look the other way, as it has repeatedly over the years; a copy of the concerns of XXXXX
of Finland will be sent to the United States Senators of Minnesota.  A copy will be sent to the Minnesota State Office of Education.  A copy will be sent to the Long Prairie Board of Education.


And always: the media.  


Respectfully,

Danielle Grijalva, Director
Committee for Safety of Foreign Exchange Students
P.O. Box 6496 / Oceanside, CA 92052
www.csfes.org / 760-583-9593

Laws can embody standards; governments can enforce laws--but the final task is not a task for government. It 
is a task for each and every one of us. Every time we turn our heads the other way when we see the law flouted
--when we tolerate what we know to be wrong--when we close our eyes and ears to the corrupt because we are too busy, or too frightened--when we fail to speak up and speak out--we strike a blow against freedom and 
decency and justice. 
-- Robert Francis Kennedy


cc
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX


Consul General of Finland

International Student Exchange USA (ISEUSA), Mr. Wayne Brewer and 

Ms. Rose Hawkins

Lone Prairie Police Department
  Police Chief Kevin Langer
  Sergeant Duane Breiter


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Case from Long Prairie, Minnesota 2013-14
From: "XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX"
Date: Thu, July 31, 2014 6:15 am
To: Complaint@csfes.org

Dear Sir/Madam,
here's some hardships what our son, Finnish 17-years old boy, XXXXXXXXX faced during 
his exchange year 2013-14 in Minnesota, Long Prairie (mostly about the area rep Rose 
Hawkins / ISE):


- XXXX took pictures at family Huttunen's home (his first host-family), where the 
conditions were horrible and uninhabitable (some pictures attached). It's irresponsible to 
send a teenager to conditions like that. Area rep Rose Hawkins (ISE) required to see the 
\pictures in XXXXX phone, and after that Rose told him to delete the pictures. XXXX 
deleted them like requested. 

Rose later claimed that the pictures were exaggerated and not from areas where XXXXX 
would have had to live. The pictures were taken for example from the family's bathroom, 
stairs (up and down), living room, moldy foods etc. We heard afterwards that the family 
was placed in the new exchange student (chinese girl)....

 - Pickup from family Huttunen: We made a deal with Finnish organization that XXXX 
wouldn't be blamed of the transfer, but still XXXXXhad to explain the family how he 
"couldn't live there because of his asthma". In that situation XXXX had to sign a paper, 
which contents he doesn't know. We have still not received for a copy of that paper....

-XXXX  was travelling a week with Rose Hawkins in the State Fair, because he didn't 
have any other place to go. Rose wanted to send Aleksi to Wisconsin at this point. 
Although Melisa Brever found a host family from Minnesota, Long Prairie. Due to an unknown reason the family/alone living man wasn't accepted as host family.

- Family Kleinschmidt (older couple) was willing to host XXXX. To be mentioned, 
Kleinschmidt's and Rose's kids are married, so that's it about objectivity. Family 
Kleinschmidt gets a reward trip every year from Rose for hosting exchange students. 
Rose told XXXXX that there are no other host families, and nobody else would have 
taken XXXX. So that XXXX needs to be grateful for Kleinschmidts because they've 
"saved XXXXX". Later XXXXX has heard from many people that there would have been 
other possible host families in that area (for example Zack Pierskalla's and Mitch Bauer's 
families). Rose also told XXXXX that he's not allowed to be in any contact with the 
Brever's (including Finnish exchange student xxxxxxx). 
- Host parents (Family Kleinschmidt) went to bed about at 9 pm every night and woke up 
already at early hours. The host dad told XXXXX and Dominik (the other exchange 
student in the same family) that if boys won't spend more time with him, they won't be 
welcome to the house anymore. Boys were pretty much on their own, and did a lot of 
chores in the whole house. Even if the boys were out to eat at night, the host parents' 
dishes were left for them to do. XXXXX had wished for more food, and he had to buy 
some extra snacks for himself.
- Coldness was a huge problem in the house. From December to February there was 
below +50F degrees upstairs, where the exchange students were sleeping. While 
sleeping XXXXX had to wear a stocking hat, t-shirt, a shirt, a thick sweater, long 
underwear, sweatpants, socks, woolen socks, and 4 blankets. 
- When we tried to tell about these problems around christmas time, the nightmare 
started. Monday January 13th Rose Hawkins leaves a message to the schools office, 
that after school XXXXX gets picked up from the high school by Rose, and afterwards 
she would take XXXXX to practice. First Rose drove XXXXX to her house, where she 
yelled at XXXXX and required to see all his messages and e-mails, that he had sent to 
us or the Finnish organization. Rose said that she would translate them. XXXXX didn't 
show them to Rose, so she claimed that XXXXX is a liar and threatened to send him 
back to Finland. After that they went to the host family's house where Rose told about
 "XXXXX home sickness, why he sent hasty messages to Finland". Rose tried to 
pressure the host parents to prevent XXXXXfrom playing hockey ("hockey shit" as Rose 
told them). The host parents didn't want do this. Rose made XXXXX sign a paper which 
said that everything is alright. The accurate contents XXXXX doesn't know because he 
wasn't let to finish reading the paper. Rose didn't take XXXXX to practice as she 
promised.
- January 13th Colleen (the host mom) shows Rose a Facebook message, where I asked 
if everything was alright. Rose told XXXXX that the message was fake propaganda. The 
day after XXXXX had a game. When XXXXX came home after midnight, he saw a note 
on the table, that he has to call Rose right away. XXXXX called, and Rose told him to 
dress up and be ready so that she can pick him up. That night ( yes, in the middle of the 
night!) Rose picked up XXXX to her house. Fabio (the other exchange student) saw when 
XXXXX left and came back, the host parents didn't get to know about it till the morning 
after. Is this kind of action allowed in the rules or is it even legal?? Rose told XXXXX to 
leave his cellphones in the car. The action was extremely organized and systematic. 
Rose yelled at XXXXX that he had talked to his friend about bad living conditions. XXXXX 
had to talk on the phone with some area representative from Wisconsin, who told XXXXX 
that he has to do everything that Rose says. The area rep also said that XXXXX is not 
allowed to talk anybody about his and Rose's conversations. XXXXX also had to sign a 
probation paper, where he confessed all his mistakes and that he was a liar, he had 
talked about things to the third party etc. Rose told XXXXX that even a one little mistake 
and XXXXX goes back to Finland. She also told XXXXX that if he didn't sign the paper, 
he would go back to Finland. XXXXX had to apologize Rose because of his behavior.
- The hand-written part of student problem resolution wasn't XXXXX's own text, Rose told 
the exact words what XXXXX had to write. XXXXX asked Rose what would happen if he 
disagreed and Rose said XXXXX would get sent back. All the claims in the papers were 
written by Rose Hawkins and disagreeing was not an option. Consequences would have 
been familiar - getting sent back.

Conclusion: XXXXX has been threatened, bashed, blamed, and casted a slur on 
several times by Rose Hawkins and about things he couldn't affect on. Those 
things weren't his fault. Rose has behaved very threateningly towards XXXXX. 
Finland's organization encouraged all the time to tell if something was wrong and 
every time we did it, Rose attacked against XXXXX by blaming, bashing and 
threatening with sending him back to Finland. She has tried to get rid of him 
continuously. She's supposed to be the trustworthy and supportive adult. Instead, 
she's very sick, scary and unstable human-being who threatens and lies with no 
problems and who always turns out the things way that benefits her.

Nothing can fix XXXXX's exchange year anymore but our responsibility is to do our best 
so that no other exchange student would have to go through the same. Hope you can do 
something with this....

Yours Sincerely,

XXXXX'S parents, from Finland
 
 

The Committee for Safety of Foreign Exchange Students (CSFES) brings to your attention that this is not an isolated incident.

Here are photos taken by a former exchange student also allegedly supervised by Ms. Rose Hawkins:

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: International Student Exchange (ISE) student XXXX XXXX of
GERMANY facing repatriation from Minnesota
From: dgrijalva@csfes.org
Date: Mon, November 09, 2009 1:33 am
To: "Jim Gelbmann" <Jim.Gelbmann@state.mn.us>, "Ashely Stover"
<Ashely_Stover@casey.senate.gov>, r.jaeger@treff-sprachreisen.de,
"Stanley Colvin" <Colvinss@state.gov>, "Lawrence Sally"
<Lawrencesj@state.gov>, "Elizabeth Dickerson" <DickersonEB@state.gov>,
Crowleypj@state.gov, "Christopher Hileman" <HilemanCC@state.gov>, 
"Maura Pally" <PallyMM@state.gov>, "Maha Ammar" <AmmarMG@state.gov>, 
"Susan Geary" <GearySA@state.gov>, "Karen Hawkins" <hawkinsks@state.gov>
Cc: Besafe@csfes.org, "atlanta@germanconsulate.org, boston@germanconsulate.org, 
chicago@germanconsulate.org

Deputy Secretary of State Jim Gelbmann
180 State Office Building
Saint Paul, Minnesota   55155

United States Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.

United States Department of State
  Mr. Stanley Colvin
  Mr. P.J. Crowley
  Special Agent Christopher Hileman
  Ms. Maura Pally
  Ms. Maha Ammar
  Ms. Sally Lawrence
  Ms. Susan Geary
  Ms. Karen Hawkins

Honorary Consulate General of Germany

TREFF Germany
  Mr. Rainer Jaeger

Re: International Student Exchange (ISE) participant XXXXXXXX

Date of Birth:  01-16-93

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Email below from the natural father of xxxx xxxxxx deserves your immediate attention.

Please let me know of any questions you may have.

Respectfully,

Danielle Grijalva, Director
Committee for Safety of Foreign Exchange Students
P.O. Box 6496 / Oceanside, CA 92052
www.csfes.org / 866-471-9203


Laws can embody standards; governments can enforce laws--but the final task is not a task for government. It is a task for each and every one of us. Every time we turn our heads the other way when we see the law flouted--when we tolerate what we know to be wrong--when we close our eyes and ears to the corrupt because we are too busy, or too frightened--when we fail to speak up and speak out--we strike a blow against freedom and decency and justice. 
-- Robert Francis Kennedy




-------- Original Message --------
Subject: XXXXX
From: "" <xxxxxxxxxxx
Date: Sun, November 08, 2009 7:15 pm
To: 'Rainer_Jäger' <r.jaeger@treff-sprachreisen.de>
Cc: <pwilwert@msn.com>, <dgrijalva@csfes.org>

Sehr geehrter Herr Jäger,
Wie bereits in meinen vorangegangenen e-mails beschrieben, speziell in meinem letzten ist die Ablehnung eine Familienwechsels für mich inakzeptabel.
Jule fühlt sich in der Gegend sehr einsam, da sie keinen Kontakt zu gleichaltrigen aufbauen kann, da die Schule in der sie auch Sport treibt ca. 18 Meilen entfernt ist und keiner ihrer Sportkameraden in der Nähe wohnt. Mehrere Versuch ihrerseits Kontakte aufzunehmen und zu pflegen sind fehlgeschlagen.
Ich möchte hier auch nochmal darauf hinweisen, dass der Familienwechsel von beiden Familien akzeptiert wurde und auch die Schule in Iowa Falls xxxx aufnimmt. Dew weitern habe ich als leiblicher Vater das Recht einen Familienwechsel zu fordern, wenn ich der Meinung bin das es für meine Tochter besser ist.
Nachdem ISE darauf aufmerksam wurde das xxxx die Familie wechseln möchte wurde ihr mehrfach von Mrs. Hawkins gesagt, bzw. mitteilen lassen, dass sie nicht nach Iowa gehen könnte. Mrs. Hawkins hat xxxx versucht dazu zu drängen zu sagen dass sie eigentlich nur nach Hause möchte.
Da sich die Lage in der Zwischenzeit dramatisch zugespitz hat wende ich mich jetzt mit der Aufforderung an Sie Jule sofort von xxxx xxxx (Adresse unten) abholen zu lassen und in ihr Haus in Iowa Falls zu bringen bis dies Angelegenheit endgültig geklärt ist.
Gleichzeitig veranlassen Sie bitte, dass ein „Host Application Form“  an Familie Wilwert geschickt wird.
  
Gestern wurde auf Anweisung von Mrs. Rose Hawkins xxxx ihr Laptop weggenommen. Dieser Laptop ist persönliches Eigentum von xxxx.  Durch den Entzug ist Jule die Kommunikation mit uns in dieser angespannten Lage sehr erschwert.
 
In der Zwischenzeit wurde XXXX ihre Kontokarte und ihre Mobiltelefonkarte weggenommen. xxxx teilte uns vorher mit, dass gleich die Polizei kommen würde und zu einer Frau (Mary) bringt. Morgen würde sie dann nach Hause geschickt. Die Frau kam dann auch, jedoch ohne Polizei. Ich habe XXXX zwar noch gesagt dass sie auf keinen Fall mitgehen solle (Man hatte ihr heute Abend ihren Laptop wiedergegeben). Ich habe allerdings keine Ahnung ob sie sie wehren konnte, da zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Verbindung unterbrochen wurde. Die örtlich Polizei ist der Fall übrigens gänzlich unbekannt.
Veranlassen Sie bitte umgehend mir mitzuteilen wo meine Tochter sich befindet und veranlassen Sie das xxxx in die Obhut von Mrs. XXXX XXXX kommt.
Mein Schreiben an Mrs. Hawkins und ihre Antwort, in der sie mir quasi verbietet Kontakt mit ihr aufzunehmen finden Sie anbei.
Ich mache mir mittlerweile große Sorgen um XXXXX Gesundheit.

Photos of residence Ms. Rose Hawkins placed a former International Student Exchange (ISE) exchange student:

Note:  These photos were also sent to the State Department


(Contact CSFES and request photos.  To appear on website soon.)